When I decided to live in Canada, I had no idea why. There were not certain reasons for myself. On the opposite, My husband was high opinionated about our country’s issues and he knew exactly why he wanted to leave our country behind. So, I gave it a shot and we have been in Canada since then.

One year and a half later, I realized that coming here was one of the best choices that I have made because I could find myself and my life purpose. I do believe that nobody continues to be the same after changing cultures. Actually, I did not change mine but I found my way of thinking right here. In my country, I had so much trouble because of my behaviour that I thought it was always my fault. For example, if a friend opened your purse and took out your money without asking your permission, would you trust him/her again? My answer is NO. I would not trust, however, I think I would not break up the friendship. There are values that most people of my country do not respect, such as privacy and other boundaries. I felt wrong for thinking that way.

Now, I am mature enough to know that there is no right or wrong in relationships matters. Besides, people can choose how they should behave every time, but I can deny that the culture plays in an important role in peoples lives. Today, I know I definitely was in an environment where I did not share the same culture with the people.

My advice is to find yourself and respect who you are. No matter what you need to do I think it will be worth it.    😀

Deixe um comentário